Foxborough High Football to Play in Division 4 South Next Season

Foxborough football will be in the same division as Hockomock League rivals Canton and Sharon next season.

After hearing appeals from 10 high schools, the Massachusetts Interscholastic Athletic Association (MIAA) Football Committee has completed its realignment of the high school football divisions for next season's new playoff format.

According to the Boston Herald, appeals from Arlington Catholic, Pope John, Matignon, Boston Latin, Diman, Mashpee and Maynard were approvedby the MIAA football committee.

With the divisions complete, Foxborough finds itself in the newly formed Division 4 South, which is comprised of 16 teams. One of those teams is a familiar foe to Foxborough - Canton. Sharon tried to move from Division 3 Southeast to Division 4 South but their appeal was denied.

Here's a complete breakdown of Division 4 South:

  • Foxborough
  • Canton
  • Dennis-Yarmouth
  • Westwood
  • Middleboro
  • Randolph
  • Apponequet
  • Holliston
  • Scituate
  • Medway
  • Dedham
  • Wareham
  • Norton
  • Hanover
  • Bishop Stang
  • Coyle-Cassidy

Here's a breakdown of the other Hockomock League schools in their respective divisions:

  • Division 1 South: Attleboro and Franklin
  • Division 2 South: King Philip, Mansfield and Taunton
  • Division 3 Southeast: Sharon
  • Division 3 Southwest: North Attleboro, Oliver Ames, Milford, Stoughton, Sharon.

To read the Boston Herald's story in its entirety, click here.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »